Python optimization and profiling

For the past 5 days, I have worked on replacing a part of Britney (our beloved testing migration tool).  The part I am trying replacing is her “installability tester”, which is probably one of the most used parts of Britney.

I know premature optimization is the root of all evil, but I felt compelled to be a bit “evil” this time.  The reason is that a naïve algorithm could easily spend decades on computing the result of our most complete tests (each consists of roughly 2 *  35 000 packages).

Within a couple of days, I felt I had a reasonable candidate to use on the large tests.  On the large tests, it ran with a noticeable speed regression and it produced one different result.  The result difference was about 20-40 source packages and their binaries.

You may have noticed I used “difference” and not “regression”.  In the given test, our current implementation at some point gives up with an “AIEEE” error.  So I decided to turn my attention to the speed regression first.

As any “good” programmer, I decided to use a profiler (cProfile) to determine my bottle-necks.  This turned out to be a good idea, as the bottleneck was not quite where I thought it was.  I wish I could say I just patched it out the issue, but… unfortunately not.

I played around with various changes such as using “implied” for loops rather than explicit ones etc.  Some times I would manage to cut the runtime in half only to be unable to reproduce it later.  Yesterday I finally realized what caused this.  I was working in 3 different chroots, two 64-bit sid chroots[1] and a 32-bit stable chroot.

Turns out that my replacement is only slow in the stable chroot.  As soon as I moved to a sid chroot, the runtime was more or less cut in half.  I have not bothered to check if it is the 32 vs 64 bit, the stable vs sid part or maybe the python profile in stable is just slow[2].  I simply moved to my sid chroots for now and continued working.

With that taken care of, I figured I would remind myself of what I was up against.  On the largest test I have available, I profiled my implementation to around 4:30 – 5:00 minutes.  Regardless of my changes, I always got times in that range.  I did manage to patch a bug in my code that reduced by only diff to 10 source packages (plus their binaries) at the price of 30 seconds.

So I was back to 5 minutes according to the profiler, but I noticed that my test runner disagreed.  According to my test runner my implementation had a runtime of approx. 3 minutes and 40 seconds.  For comparison my test runner puts the original implementation at 3 minutes and 20 seconds for that test.

In short, I have spent most of my day trying to optimize my code to compensate for the +20% overhead the profiler introduced.

Admittedly, my replacement still needs some speed improvement on some other tests where it still has a factor 2 runtime regression. I also need to fix the last diff, which now I suspect is in my replacement.

[1] In case you were wondering, yes those chroots are on two different machines.

[2] Of course, it could be a combination of that as well…  Anyhow, I am too lazy to research it at the moment.

This entry was posted in Debian, Release-Team. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Python optimization and profiling

  1. I’m somewhat surprised the overhead is only 20%.

    I’ve seen worse things with cProfile, e.g. once it attributed 50% runtime to a function that actually took “only” 20% of the time, when measured with simpler time.time() based checks. The profiling overhead is uneven.

  2. Karellen says:

    I think the full quote is instructive here:

    “We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: premature optimization is the root of all evil”

    The difference between “decades” and “5 minutes” is not a “small efficiency” to be forgotten. When you know “n” is not going to be small, finding a fancy algorithm with a good “Big O” over using brute force is not premature. Plus, you measured before optimising further, which is by definition not premature.

Leave a Reply

